18.4 C
New York
Sunday, May 19, 2024

Women’s World Cup 2027: FIFA begin inspection process for prospective hosts

FIFA has begun conducting inspection visits to the countries that have confirmed their bids to host the 2027 Women’s World Cup.

The United States and Mexico confirmed their joint bid to host the tournament in December. There is also a joint European bid from Belgium, Germany and the Netherlands. Brazil are the final country that lodged an official bid before the December 8 deadline.

The on-site inspection visits to bidding countries is the next stage of the process, with a FIFA statement confirming that “it will also hold meetings” with respective federations “to assess certain technical aspects included in the bid books and discuss the overall plans for women’s football development in the respective countries”.

The visits begin on January 30 and are due to be completed by February 29.

The findings of the inspection process will be reported by world football’s governing body in May 2024, as part of its ‘Bid Evaluation’ report.

The hosts are then anticipated to be appointed through an open vote by the FIFA Congress, when it meets on May 17 in Bangkok, Thailand.

The U.S. hosted the tournament in 1999 and 2003, while Germany were the host nation in 2011.

The 2023 World Cup — hosted by Australia and New Zealand, and won by Spain — was the first women’s tournament to be held across two countries, but a competition across Belgium, the Netherlands and Germany would be the first hosted in three countries.

Brazil would make history if they were selected, with the Women’s World Cup having never previously been hosted in South America.

(Daniela Porcelli/ISI Photos/Getty Images)

Read the full article here

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles