5.6 C
New York
Thursday, February 22, 2024

Nigeria vs South Africa live updates: Africa Cup of Nations team news, line-ups and predictions

Follow live action today as Nigeria face South Africa in the first AFCON semi-final with a place in the final on the line

Max Mathews

(Getty Images)

Everything you need to know about AFCON 2023

Everything you need to know about AFCON 2023Everything you need to know about AFCON 2023

(Photo: Getty Images)

Not been keeping up so far? Even if you have, listen to Tifo Football’s brilliantly informative podcast, recorded before the start of the tournament, to furnish you with everything you need to know for the tournament right here.

  • Why is it called AFCON 2023 if it’s in 2024?
  • Why should people be watching?
  • Who are the players to keep an eye on?

Jon Mackenzie, Maher Mezahi and Alasdair Howorth answer all those questions, and more. Listen in!

Subscribe to The Athletic

Sign up to The Athletic using our latest discount offer here if you want access to world-class journalism, breaking news, podcasts, and more.

What are you waiting for?

Today’s venue

Today's venueToday's venue

Stade de la Paix, Bouake

Capacity: 40,000.

The second-biggest stadium in use at AFCON 2023 is the venue for today’s first game.

Neither team has played at Stade de la Paix yet at the tournament, so it will be a new experience for them.

How to watch Nigeria vs South Africa

Here are the viewing options for those hoping to tune into the action:

  • UK: Sky Sports Main Event/Sky Sports Premier League.
  • US: beIN Sports.
  • Australia: beIN Sports.
  • Canada: beIN Sports.
  • Nigeria: AfroSport.
  • South Africa: SABC.

What time does Nigeria vs South Africa kick off?

It is a 5pm kick-off local time, and also 5pm GMT in the UK.

That is 6pm in Nigeria and 7pm in South Africa.

For those of you in the US, that is 12pm ET and 9am PT.

Welcome to our Nigeria vs South Africa live coverage

Welcome to our Nigeria vs South Africa live coverageWelcome to our Nigeria vs South Africa live coverage

Hello and welcome to The Athletic‘s live coverage of a huge day at 2023 AFCON.

It is semi-final day in the Ivory Coast and, at the end of the day, we will know which two teams will meet in Sunday’s final.

Our focus will be on the first of the matches between Nigeria and South Africa, and then we’ll be keeping an eye on what happens in the second game between the tournament hosts and DR Congo.



Read the full article here

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles