15.5 C
New York
Sunday, May 19, 2024

Egypt vs Ghana live updates: Africa Cup of Nations team news, line-ups and predictions

Two heavyweight sides look to bounce back after disappointing opening matches in AFCON Group B

Ed Mackey

Getty Images

Egypt vs Ghana: Start time, TV/stream info, team news

  • Kick-off time: 8pm GMT, 3pm ET, 12pm PT.
  • TV info: BBC Three & Sky Sports (UK), beIN Sports (US).
  • Team news: Released at around 7pm GMT, 2pm ET, 11am PT.

Subscribe to The Athletic using our latest discount offer here.

AFCON: Your guide to the games, the stars and the storylines

AFCON: Your guide to the games, the stars and the storylinesAFCON: Your guide to the games, the stars and the storylines

(Getty Images)

The 34th edition of the Africa Cup of Nations started on January 13 as hosts Ivory Coast beat Guinea-Bissau 2-0.

The biennial competition, which first took place in 1957, sees 24 teams battle it out to be crowned Africa’s champions. At the last AFCON, Senegal beat Egypt on penalties to win the tournament for the first time.

Will Aliou Cisse’s side, led by Sadio Mane and Kalidou Koulibaly, repeat their success? Or can Morocco build upon their impressive run to the semi-finals of the World Cup in Qatar and lift the trophy? Napoli striker Victor Osimhen, who won the CAF Men’s Footballer of the Year award in December, will be hoping to guide a talented Nigeria squad to glory.

The Athletic, who will be covering the tournament from the Ivory Coast, brings you all the key information on what to expect over the next few weeks.

GO FURTHER

AFCON: Your guide to the games, the stars and the storylines

AFCON players on being pressured to miss tournament: ‘It shows disrespect for Africa’

AFCON players on being pressured to miss tournament: ‘It shows disrespect for Africa’AFCON players on being pressured to miss tournament: ‘It shows disrespect for Africa’

(Getty Images)

Sebastien Haller was furious. In December 2021, the forward — who was playing for Ajax at the time — was asked if he planned on playing at the Africa Cup of Nations the following month.

“This question shows the disrespect for Africa,” Haller said. “Would this question ever get asked to a European player ahead of the Euros? Of course I will go to AFCON to represent Ivory Coast — that is the highest honour.”

Everything you need to know about AFCON 2023

Everything you need to know about AFCON 2023Everything you need to know about AFCON 2023

Listen to Tifo Football’s brilliantly informative podcast furnishing you with everything you need to know for the tournament right here.

  • Why is it called AFCON 2023 if it’s in 2024?
  • Why should people be watching?
  • Who are the players to keep an eye on?

Jon Mackenzie, Maher Mezahi and Alasdair Howorth answer all those questions, and more. Listen in!

Join the conversation!

Fancy letting us know your predictions for today’s match? Or revealing who you think will be the next African wonderkid to burst onto the scene?

Fire us your questions, comments and observations at our email: [email protected]

Include your name and we may just publish your thoughts in this blog.

Looking forward to hearing from you!

AFCON all-time winners

AFCON all-time winnersAFCON all-time winners

(Getty Images)

Seven nations, including both of today’s sides, have won the Africa Cup of Nations multiple times:

  • Egypt – 7
  • Cameroon – 5
  • Ghana – 4
  • Nigeria – 3
  • Ivory Coast – 2
  • Algeria – 2
  • DR Congo – 2

Hello!

Hello!Hello!

Welcome to our live coverage of today’s Africa Cup of Nations match between Egypt and Ghana.

Egypt have won this tournament a record seven times but got off to an inauspicious start in their opening match on Sunday, needing a 97th-minute penalty from Mohamed Salah to rescue a draw against Mozambique.

Ghana are a decorated side as well, having won AFCON four times previously, but they got off to an even worse start in their opener, falling 2-1 to Cape Verde.

Both sides will be pressing hard for a win today, so we should be set for a cracking match!



Read the full article here

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles